29th JANUARY 2022, VALLETTA, MALTA – During a ceremony held at the Mediterranean Conference Centre in Valletta, Malta, the Malta Film Commission hosted the 1st Malta Film Awards.

The Malta Film Awards Ceremony follows a week full of events, all related to film, which have been organised as part of the Malta Film Week 2022.

The first edition of the awards aims to celebrate the appreciation of Malta’s story throughout the years while looking to pass the baton onto future generations. The tagline chosen of “Celebrating Our Story” pays tribute to all those who dream of becoming filmmakers and being part of Malta’s Film & TV industry.

The award ceremony was hosted by the globally acclaimed British presenter and comedian David Walliams.

During his ceremony, Malta Film Commissioner Johann Grech said, “Over 230 professionals, 265 artists, local and international talent, working together to make tonight’s show the biggest ever TV show, with the highest standards, in Malta. It is an important milestone which brings the public and the industry united together to celebrate the value of film and TV.”

“We have the vision.  We have the ambition. We are on the march. To create a world class film industry in Malta.” the Film Commissioner concluded.

Minister for Tourism and Consumer Protection Clayton Bartolo, Minister Carmelo Abela and Minister for National Heritage, Arts and Local Government Jose Herrera also addressed the audience during the ceremony.

The Winners of the 1st Malta Film Awards are the following:

Best Film
The Boat – Joe Azzopardi, Winston Azzopardi, Rita Galea, Yolanda Galea

Best Short Film
The Maltese Fighter – Joshua Cassar Gaspar

Best TV Series
L-Għarusa – Justin Farrugia & Steven Dalli

Best Documentary
Pass Pass għal Auschwitz – Jonathan Farrugia

Best Director
Davide Ferrario – Blood on the Crown

Best Post-Production
Aaron Briffa, Claudio Cormio, Nikita Argunov, Pedja Miletic & Vito Martinelli – Blood on the Crown

Best Cinematography
Marek Traskowski – The Boat

Best Classic Film
Scrooge – Alan Fenech & Tony Parnis

Best Classic TV Series
Għeruq – Frida Cauchi & Hermann Bonaci

Best Costume Design
Audrey Brincat Dalli & Angelle Farrugia – ‘L-Għarusa’

Best Hair & Makeup Design
Christian Kotey & Jannie Stax – ‘Blood on the Crown’

Best Male Actor in a Leading Role
Harvey Keitel – Blood on the Crown

Best Female Actor in a Leading Role
Louise Doneo – Hemm Dar il-Qala

Best Male Actor in a Supporting Role
Narcy Calamatta – Ħabbilni ħa nirbaħ

Best Female Actor in a Supporting Role
Sarah Camilleri – L-iSpettur

Best Production Design
Mela Melak – Blood on the Crown

Best Screenplay
Jean Pierre Magro – Blood on the Crown

Best Musical Score
Alexey Shor & Laurent Eyquem – Blood on the Crown

Lifetime Achievement Award
Mario Philip Azzopardi

Crew Recognition Award
Ino Bonello

Malta Film Commissioner’s Award
Colin Trevorrow

The Malta Film Ambassador Award
Sir Ridley Scott

Malta Film Industry Honorary Award
Russell Crowe

Best Film Location Award
Fort Ricasoli – Kalkara